top of page

Coronavirus and College Campuses: The Push for Remote Learning

Updated: Dec 17, 2020


Manhattan College remote students reflect on an online semester.


COVID-19 presented college and university students with a daunting decision: remain home as a completely remote student or return to campus for in-person/hybrid learning and risk the spread of the coronavirus. According to the Quadrangle, the 2020 school year saw 600 fewer residential students directly because of COVID-19.


While many chose to remain home out of precaution, some students were obligated to switch to remote learning because of prior illness. Manhattan College sophomore, Maeve Kirk, faced difficulties with her health prior to the pandemic.


“I am compromised and have an autoimmune disorder,” Kirk said. “I thought it was better to stay safe at home.” In addition to health concerns, the school’s decision to offer a completely online semester aided Kirk’s decision. “Once I saw all my classes were going to be online anyway, it really didn’t make sense to me to go back,” Kirk said.


Some also remained home for fear of being evacuated as the Coronavirus progressed. Manhattan College sophomore, Jennifer Guilbeault spoke with the Quadrangle regarding her decision to be a remote student.


“Since [everything] was so unpredictable, it was smarter for me to stay home and save the money this semester, and then just go back next semester,” said Jennifer Guilbeault.


Students reportedly stated that they preferred isolation in the comfort of their own homes where they were surrounded by commodities like home-cooked meals, access to cars, and family to help them through the tough times.


Where residential students were required by Manhattan College Guidelines to stay within their own dorm rooms and wear a mask when seeing anyone who did not immediately live with them, remote students were able to set their own rules.


“As a remote student, I definitely feel like I have more time, [especially because of] the social aspect that I’m not around for, like my friends distracting me or going out and stuff,” Guilbeault said. “I get my work done faster and sooner. I definitely prioritize my work more, and I’m in a more set routine at home. Like, I’ll do my classes, I’ll go to the gym, and then I’ll do my work at home and have meetings.”


Remote students learned a new normal, replacing lectures with zoom calls, labs with follow-along worksheets and dorms with childhood bedrooms. Still, many remote students like Kirk stay confident that they made the right decision.


“I feel comfortable with my decision because I think it’s more organized solely because my professors chose to be fully remote,” Kirk said. “I think it would be more complicated if it were really hybrid.”


Hybrid learning consists of alternating in-person and online classes. Nationally, some professors have chosen to have an “A” set of students come in one day and a “B” set come in the next. Others have chosen to have in-person learning some days of the week and at-home learning other days.


Hybrid lab classes consist of a video demonstration of the professor conducting the experiment, with a series of questions to be answered by the student about the procedure. The students are to submit their lab reports along with these questions so that they are fully absorbing the material.


“It’s definitely better than it was in March when this first happened,” Kirk said.


Though confident in her decision, Kirk can’t help but reminisce on her freshman year at Manhattan College, and miss the “college experience” she once had.

“I did not expect this to be part of my college experience at all,” Kirk said. “I think everyone can attest to that.”


According to Charles Clency, the Director of Residence Life at Manhattan College, the school is expecting 150-200 remote learners to return to campus. With this increase in student life comes more room for error in terms of pandemic safety. To hear current residential students’ opinions and experiences regarding Manhattan College housing during the Pandemic, click the link here.


A safe Spring semester and a foreseeable Fall 2021 semester are reliant on the cooperation of in-person students throughout this time. Wearing masks, social distancing and staying safe are the only way to ensure we salvage what is left of our college experience.



8 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page